MULTAN - The activists of Pakistan Railway Employees Union (PREM) staged a rally to press the railways administration accept their demands here on Wednesday. A large number of railway workers assembled at the DS office and marched up to locomotive shed where the PREM leaders addressed the protesters. They were holding placards and banners inscribed with their demands while they carried out non-stop sloganeering against railway administration.

Speaking on the occasion, PREM Divisional President Wasiq Khan, Abdul Rauf Rashid and others said that a severe unrest prevailed among railway workers because of poor policies of the government and railway administration. They said that the chairman issued orders for payment of salaries through banks which was unacceptable to all workers. They said that the workers appointed at far-flung stations could not visit banks as a result of which they faced serious inconvenience. They demanded the railways administration to restore old salary payment system otherwise no worker would receive salary from bank.

They further pointed out that the payment of allowances like TA, base work, over time and GPF was stopped by Pakistan Railways for the last many months. They asked the administration to ensure immediate payment of above mentioned allowances, confirm the services of TLA workers, stop five percent deduction under the head of houses and shut down private rail systems working under PR umbrella. They further asked the government to stop political interference in PR otherwise they would go on strike.

MPC elects new body today: The election to choose new office-bearers of Multan Press Club for the year 2011-12 will be held Thursday (today) as 41 aspirants are running for 17 different offices. The election committee has, for the first time in the history of press club, set the condition of showing national identity card, accreditation card or departmental card for the voters prior to casting their vote. “The motive behind imposing this condition is to eliminate the chances of rigging,” said Zafar Aheer, president of election committee. Similarly, the entry of all irrelevant persons in polling premises will be banned.

There will be one-on-one contest for president and general secretary seats. Former president Shakeel Anjum will face Nadeem Shah for president office and Ashfaq Ahmad to Nasir Zaidi for general secretary. Similarly, five candidates are in the contest for two posts of vice president including Asghar Nadeem Baig, Razi Uddin Razi, Rafique Qureshi, Shahid Jafri and Muhammad Arshad Chaudhry. Two opponents namely Gohar Javed and Nasir Zaheer vie for joint secretary seat while three candidates Ajmal Chaudhry, Rana Rohail and Rao Noman are in the ground for finance secretary office. The highest number of candidates-a total of 27-have submitted their nomination papers for 11 executive seats.