ISLAMABAD - National Assembly Speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza has accepted the resignations of six lawmakers, including Shah Mehmood Qureshi.

According to a notification Wednesday, the resignations of six MNAs were accepted and the Election Commission of Pakistan would be directed to make arrangements for by-elections on these seats.  The resignation of Qureshi from NA-148 (Multan), Nawabzada Muhammad Khan Hoti from NA-9 (Mardan), Jahangir Khan Tareen from NA-195 (Rahimyar Khan), Makhdoom Javed Hashmi from NA-149 (Multan), Maimoona Hashmi (Punjab) were accepted.