Hosts, Chile, won their first ever Copa America when they beat neighbours, Argentina, in a tensed penalty shootout. The much-awaited final finished 0-0 after extra time, so, penalties were required to determine the winner of the steamy encounter. Gonzalo Higuain and Ever Banega both missed their penalties for Argentina, as Chile secured their first ever major trophy on home soil.

Higuain had earlier squandered some very good opportunities, missing from close range a few times. Alexis Sanchez came closest in extra time for Chile, who scored all of their four penalties later on.

Both teams kept the match tight till the final whistle, giving away very few opportunities but Chile were by far the better team on the night with 57% ball possession and were unlucky not to score. Chile shot 18 times working the keeper on 4 occasions compared with Argentina who shot 8 times but coming close to scoring only twice.

Matias Fernandez was the first to score a penalty for the hosts followed by Vidal and Aranguiz who both converted their spot kicks. Leo Messi was the only successful penalty taker for Argentina as Higuain shot too high and Banega had his penalty saved by Claudio Bravo. Arsenal Ace, Alexis Sanchez stepped up to convert the winning penalty as Chile triumphed 4-1 over Argentina.