Sports Desk

LAHORE - Karachi Zebras slumped against the Quetta Bears bowling duo of Arun Lal and Shahzaib Khan to suffer 33 runs defeat at the hands of the visitors in the National one day division II cricket here Sunday at NBP stadium.

Arun Lal took three for 23 and Shahzaib Khan two for 30 as Karachi Zebras fell for 162 in reply to winner’s total of 195 for nine. Taimoor Ali 36, Ata ur Rehman 39 and Taimoor Khan 41 in 47 balls steered Quetta Bears sent into bat first to a winnable total. Tabish Khan took two for 42 and Sohail Khan 3 for 30 for Karachi. Saeed bin Nasir 34, Akber Ur Rehman 69 and Faraz Ahmed Khan 26 were main scorers for the Zebras innings which terminated in the second ball of 46th overt.

Put into bat first Multan Tigers piled up 270 runs for the loss of six wickets in 50 overs. Naveed Yasin played a fine knock of 92 runs with the help of seven boundaries while Aamir Yasmin scored 59 runs laced with nine fours and one six and Najam Abbas (37) also played well. Zahid Mahmood got two wickets for 54 runs.

In reply Hyderabad were bowled out for 224 runs in 48.3 overs. Only Ghulam Yasin (66) and Mir Ali Talpur (37) played well for Hyderabad.

Ali Akbar and Aamer Yamin got three wickets each for 37 and 60 runs respectively while Waris got 2/35. Khalid Mahmood Sr & Islam Khan supervised the match and Naeem Ahmed was the match referee. The group A match played between KRL and United Bank was abandoned due to rain. Batting first KRL were restricted to 159 all out and in reply UBL have scored 87/2 when rain stopped play and match was abandoned. Shozab Raza & Jamil Kamran were the umpires of the match and Parvaiz Akhtar acted as referee.

Summarised scores:

Quetta Bears 195-9 in 50 overs (Taimoor Ali 36, Atta-ur-Rehman 39, Taimoor Khan 41, Tabish Khan 2-42, Sohail Khan 3-30)

Karachi Zebras 162 in 45.2 overs (Saeed bin Nasir 34, 2x4s, Akbar-ur-Rehman 69, , 2x4s, Faraz Ahmed Khan 26, 1x4s, 1 x6, Arun Lal 3-23, Shahzaib Khan 2-30)  

Multan Tigers 270-6 in 50 overs (Aamir Yamin 59, 9x4s, 1 x6, Najam Abbas 37, Naveed Yasin 92, 7x4s, Maqbool Ahmed 38, 3x4s, Zahid Mahmood 2-54)

Hyderabad Hawks 224 in 48.3 overs (Ghulam Yasin 66, Mir Ali Talpur 34, Ali Akbar 3-37, Aamer Yamin 3-60, M Waris 2-35)  

KRL 159 in 39.1 overs (Ali Naqvi 57, 92 balls, 5 x4s, 1 x6s, Saeed Anwar Jr. 33, 60 balls, 3 x4s, Ruman Raees 2-26, Misbah Khan 2-43, Kashif Bhatti 3-25).