The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Monday upheld previous results of Senate elections in Balochistan, setting aside the reservations of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

On March 02, the results of seven general seats of Senate from Balochistan were withheld over PML-N’s objections on the success of ANP candidate. The PML-N had accused the opponents of rigging and wrong use of ballot-papers

The recounting was held again on Monday in the ECP Islamabad in presence of concerned returning officers and candidates. The commission upheld the earlier results.

According to the earlier results, the PPP had won four seats, PML-Q two, JUI-F three, BNP-A two and ANP secured one seat.

On general seats, the PPP's Saifullah Magsi, Sardar Fateh Muhammad Hassani and Yousaf Baloch, JUI's Hafiz Hamdullah, BNP's Israrullah Zehri, PML-Q's Saeedul Hassan Mandokhail and ANP's Daud Khan Achakzai has been declared as successful.

For two seats reserved for women, out of the eight candidates BNP-A's Naseema Ehsan and PML-Q's Mrs Robina Irfan secured seats while for seats reserved for Ulema and technocrats, winners were Mufti Abdul Sattar of JUI-F and Rozi Khan Kakar of PPP. Heman Dass of JUI-F won the seat for minorities.