Sindh Governor Dr. Ishratul Ebad on Tuesday accepted the resignations submitted by 11 provincial ministers belonging to the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM).

MQM ministers had submitted their resignations after their party had developed differences with the ruling Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) government.

According to Governor House spokesperson, Ebad accepted resignations of 11 MQM ministers including Faisal Sabzwari, Syed Sardar Ahmed, Khalid bin Welayet, Dr. Saghir Ahmad, Nisar Panhwar, Adil Siddiqui, Shoaib Bukhari, Sheikh Afzal and Zubair Ahmad.

The MQM has announced to quit the federal and Sindh provincial governments, opting opposition seats in the Sindh Assembly and citing PPP’s ‘negative attitude’ and accusing the government of giving freehand to criminals in Karachi.

Opposition benches have been allotted to 40 out of 51 MQM members while the remaining 11, who were holding different portfolios, were waiting for their resignations to be accepted.

After speculation of his resignation, Dr. Ishratul Ebad flown back home from Dubai last week on the directives of MQM chief Altaf Hussain to continue as Governor.