LAHORE - Pakistan dominated the last day of the Pakistan-India Punjab Games , held under the banner of the Punjab Youth Festival (PYF) 2014, as the green shirts outclassed Indian in arm-wrestling, weightlifting, tug-of-war and wrestling events on Tuesday.
Pakistan’s men’s and women’s arm-wrestling teams made it a one-sided competition when they clinched five out of six matches in different weight categories of arm-wrestling. In the first encounter of the day, Pakistan’s Zameer Sultan trounced India’s Balraj Singh 2-0 in 65kg category, the 75kg contest was won by Pakistan’s Ammad Butt, who overwhelmed India’s Tilkraj Mehra, Pakistan’s Saifur Rehman Sulehria overcame Dilbagh Singh in 75kg plus class.
On women’s side, India’s Mandeep Kaur demonstrated handy technique and downed her rival Rabia Khalil from the host team in 60kg category. This was India’s only victory in arm-wrestling competitions. In next encounter, Pakistan’s Saadia Khalil beat India’s Jasbeer Kaur in 70kg class. In the women’s third match, India’s Navneet Kaur lost against Tayyaba Khan of Pakistan in 70kg plus match.  The Pakistani players also dominated weightlifting events by winning three out of four bouts here at Alhamra Cultural Complex. In 105kg weight category, Mustaqeem Butt downed Harbajhan Singh while Azhar Butt defeated India’s Perthi Pal Singh in 105kg weight category. Only 94kg weight category title went to India as Pardeep Singh beat Anas Javed of Pakistan while 56kg category title was won by M Shahzad who outplayed Bophinder Singh.
Pakistan won the tug of war event by 2-0. Indian team was consisted of Jaswandar Singh, Pargat Singh, Prem Singh, Balwandar Singh, Bahadur Singh, Kaldeep Singh, Tilack Raj and Balraj Singh while Yasir Abbas, Bilal Hussain, Sharafat Ali, Tayyab Raza, M Ashraf, Bilal Gujjar and Ahmad Nazir were the members of Pakistan team.
Pakistan players also proved their supremacy in the mud-wrestling as they outclassed India in three competitions while the fourth one ended in a draw. In the first bout of 65kg category, Haider Ali defeated Ranko Pehalwan. M Shafiq of Pakistan downed Kiran Sharma of India in the second bout of 75kg category. The third bout between Tahir Hussain and Inant Singh of India ended in a draw while M Sadiq made it 3-0 in favour of Pakistan after beating Jagoot Singh downing him in just five minutes.