PESHAWAR - PML-N senior leader Iqbal Zafar Jhagra yesterday took oath as new Khyber Pakhtunkhwa governor.

Peshawar High Court (PHC) Chief Justice Mazhar Alam Miankhel administered oath to the new governor at a ceremony held at the governor’s house.

Jhagra replaced Sardar Mehtab Abbasi who formally resigned on February 10. Prominent among those who attended the oath-taking ceremony were KP Chief Minister Pervez Khattak, former governors –Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan, Lt-Gen (r) Iftikhar Hussain Shah and Commander (r) Khalilur Rehman – PML-N leader and former KP chief minister Pir Sabir Shah, Senator Raja Zafarul Haq, federal ministers – Abdul Qadir Baloch and Akram Khan Durrani – Adviser to Prime Minister Engineer Amir Muqam, provincial ministers, parliamentarians, a large number of PML-N workers and tribal elders.

Iqbal Zafar Jhagra is the 37th governor of the province while Sir George Cunningham was its first governor.

Born in 1947 to Malik Muzaffar Khan Jhagra, Iqbal Zafar Jhgra who hails from Jhagra village in the outskirts of Peshawar did civil engineering from Peshawar Engineering College in 1969.

Jhagra formally joined PML-N in 1984 and became its Peshawar president in 1988. He was elected to the Senate first time in 1997 and on a vacant seat in 2008. In March 2013, Jhagra was made secretary of the PML-N central parliamentary board which was tasked with the selection of candidates for the 2013 general elections.

At least 36 governors have worked as constitutional heads of KP in last 84 years. From 1932 to 1947, all the governors were British.

Seven governors ruled the province until establishment of one unit and 23 after the one unit was abolished. Georg Cunningham had been KP governor twice before and after the partition.