ISLAMABAD - A delegation of Sindh Cabinet ministers belonging to PPP led by Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah called on Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani here at the PM House on Friday to express complete solidarity with the Prime Minister and the coalition govt.

They also commended him for his efforts to uphold the cause of democracy and the Constitution in Pakistan. Nisar Khuro, Speaker of Sindh Assembly, was also present on the occasion.

Sindh Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah congratulated the Prime Minister on the adoption of resolution by the National Assembly with overwhelming majority expressing confidence in the leadership of the Prime Minister. He said that resolution affirmed unflinching support for the Prime Minister as democratically and constitutionally elected chief executive of the country. The Sindh Chief Minister also appreciated the leadership of the coalition partners on passage of the resolution regarding creation of Southern Punjab as a separate province, adding that the acceptance of long-standing demand of the region marked a historic step forward. The Cabinet members and the Speaker of Sindh Assembly were unanimous in their resolve to defeat the anti-democratic forces, adding that they would not be deterred from upholding people’s rights in all walks of life.

The PM thanked the Chief Minister of Sindh, Speaker of Sindh Assembly and the cabinet members for their unwavering support to the democratic government of Pakistan. He added, “Together we will build edifice of democracy in the light of vision of Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah, Shaheed Zulifkar Ali Bhutto and Shaheed Benazir Bhutto.” The PM called upon the Sindh Cabinet members to reach out to people at the grassroots level and mobilise them for strengthening democracy, as they were the ultimate stakeholders in the democratic polity.  The Prime Minister said that recent campaign by the Opposition against the democratic government was bound to fail as they had been isolated politically and rejected by the people.

Minister for Religious Affairs Syed Khurshid Shah, Minister for Water & Power Syed Naveed Qamar, Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination Mir Hazar Khan Bijrani and MNAs Nauman Shah, Nawab Wasan, Mir ijaz Jakhrani were also present on the occasion.

The members of the Sindh cabinet included Agha Siraj Durrani, Ayaz Ahmad Soomro, Ms Shazia Marri, Pir Mazar-ul-Haq, Jam Mehtab Dahar, Jam Saifullah Darecho, Murad Ali Shah, Mir Nadir Magsi.