ISLAMABAD - Dr Arif-ur-Rehman Alvi, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's (PTI) candidate, was Tuesday elected as the next President of Pakistan, after getting majority votes from an electoral college comprising members of the Senate, national and provincial assemblies.

Chief Justices of Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi, Quetta and Peshawar served as presiding officers while Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Raza was the returning officer.

According to the details available on the official website of the National Assembly of Pakistan, Arif Alvi is the 17th President of Pakistan. Following is the list of the previous presidents of the country, with their respective tenures. The list includes those who served as acting presidents - Wasim Sajjad (twice) and Mohammedmian Soomro.