UNITED NATIONS - PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto will accept the top UN human rights prize awarded posthumously to Benazir Bhutto at a ceremony to be held next week at the world body's Headquarters in New York, a Pakistani Mission spokesman said Thursday. The 2008 Human Rights Prize has been conferred on Ms. Bhutto, a former Pakistani prime minister and leader of PPP, in recognition of her courageous struggle for democracy and fundamental freedoms in Pakistan. The award ceremony will take place on December 10, marking the 60th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Bilawal is expected to arrive in New York on Dec. 7 for the award ceremony at which his mother will be honoured. Other winners of the prize are: Ms. Louise Arbour, a Canadian who was until recently U.N. High Commissioner for human rights, Ramsey Clark, veteran American human rights defender and rule of law advocate, Dr. Carolyn Gomes, co-founder of Jamaicans for Justice, Dr. Denis Mukwege, a Congolese who has been helping women and girl victims of sexual violence, and Human Rights Watch, an international watchdog. Ms. Bhutto and Sr. Dorothy Stang -- a Brazilian who defended the human rights of the poor, landless and indigenous populations -- were awarded the prize posthumously. The award is given to individuals and organizations in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms. Previous recipients have included Nelson Mandela, Amnesty International, Jimmy Carter, Eleanor Roosevelt, and Reverend Dr. Martin L. King as well as Ra'ana Liaquat Ali Khan, wife of Pakistan's first Pakistani prime minister, who was also assassinated in Rawalpindi. "As we mark the 60th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, we acknowledge the tireless work and invaluable contribution of these individuals and organizations that have fought to see the rights and freedoms embodied in this historic document become a reality for people in all corners of the world," the General Assembly President, Miguel d'Escoto Brockmann said. "These awardees constitute symbols of persistence, valor and tenacity in their resistance to public and private authorities that violate human rights. They constitute a moral force to put an end to systematic human rights violations. In doing so, they are an inspiration to all of us who seek and believe another type of society, another type of political system, another economic model, another World is possible where all persons will be treated as brothers and sisters, without discrimination, exclusion or destruction of life in all its forms," President d'escoto said. The Human Rights Prize is awarded every five years, in accordance with a resolution of the General Assembly that was adopted in 1966. The prize was first awarded on 10 December 1968, the International Year for Human Rights and the 20th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The recipients of the prize were selected by a Committee comprised of the President of the General Assembly (Chairperson), the President of the Economic and Social Council, the President of the Human Rights Council, the Chairperson of the Commission on the Status of Women, and the Chairperson of the Advisory Committee of the Human Rights Council. The committee met in New York with the assistance of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights on 21 November 2008 to select the awardees from among 189 nominations received in accordance with the established rules. Ms. Bhutto was killed in a gun and suicide bomb attack on Dec. 27 as she left an election rally in Rawalpindi.