ISLAMABAD - The Shalimar Police seems to be under tremendous political pressure after it registered a case against three Members of Parliament for attacking a police team which dared raid a dance party they were taking pleasure in.

According to the sources, the police booked Najaf Abbas Sial, Muhammad Raza Hayat Harraj and Sanjay Perwani, members of the National Assembly, under sections 186, 356, 427 and 506 of the Pakistan Penal Code.

Assistant Sub-Inspector Sohail is complainant in the case, the sources said. The accused are charged in FIR No. 361 with ‘obstructing public servant in discharge of public function’, ‘assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty’, ‘mischief causing damage to the amount of 50 rupees or upward’.

The police are tight-lipped and not willing to say anything about what they claimed to be a case up to the high-ups to decide. When contacted, an official at the police station told this reporter on condition of anonymity that they have no clue about the status of the case since the registration of the FIR against the MPs.

The Investigation Officer and the Station House Officer concerned could not be reached despite repeated efforts. It is a usual matter for the parliamentarians in Pakistan to stage dance parties but it is a rarity that police dare challenge them. The moment police registered the case, political pressure seemed to have started working and the proceedings have come to a halt.

Sources told this reporter that the officials of Shalimar police station of the federal capital on Thursday night, in light of a complaint, raided House 186, Street 48 F-10/4 and found the MPs taking pleasure in a dance party. The police party was first confronted by the armed guards of the MPs who exchanged hot words before torturing them and tearing off their uniforms. Later, the MPs also joined them and threatened the police officials of dire consequences. The house is reportedly owned by one Zahoor, the sources added.

Najaf Abbas Sial    of the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz was elected from NA-91 (Jhang-III) and he belongs to Ahmad Pur Sial area of Jhang district. Muhammad Raza Hayat Harraj of the ruling PML-N was elected from NA-156 (Khanewal-I) and belongs to Kabir Wala. Sanjay Perwani was elected on a seat reserved for minorities on the ticket of Muttahida Qaumi Movement. He belongs to Mirpurkhas.

According to sources, the police were yet to arrest the three. Contrary to the claims of the sources, the daily crime diary of the Islamabad police does not have any mention of the case registered against the MPs.

An independent member of the National Assembly from Muzaffargarh, Jamshed Dasti, some ten months back had stunned the parliament by accusing fellow MNAs of indulging in immoral activities on the premises of the Parliament Lodges. However, a parliamentary panel had rejected Dasti’s allegations.

The committee observed that Dasti could not present any satisfactory evidence before the committee.

Dasti had alleged that liquor was being frequently consumed in the lodges, where the total expenditure on spirits was worth Rs40-50 million. He had also alleged that dance parties were a norm and call girls frequented the premises.