Polo season restarts with Winter Polo

LAHORE - The polo season of Lahore Polo Club (LPC) is going to restart after a break of three weeks with Winter Polo Cup 2018 getting underway today (Tuesday). Top seven teams have been participating in the 12-goal tournament, which are divided into two pools. Pool A consists of Master Paints, Army Reds and Master Paints Black while pool B comprises Dimaond Paints, Barry’s, Newage/Guard Group and Army Whites. Three matches will be contested on the opening day of the tournament as Master Paints will take on Army Reds in the first match to be played at 1pm, Diamond Paints will vie against Barry’s at 2pm and Newage/Guard Group will play against Army Whites at 3pm. Similarly, the league matches will be played throughout the week while the subsidiary and main final will be conducted on Sunday.–Staff Reporter


Faizan shines Tramri FC title win

ISLAMABAD – Faizan brace helped Tramri FC become crowned champions of the Islamabad B-Division Football League 2017-18 after they hammered Ghouri FC 3-1 in the final played here at T&T Football Ground. Meditrainian Group of Companies CEO Sardar Tariq Mehmood graced the final as chief guest and announced Rs 100,000 for Islamabad Football Association (IFA) and also announced to sponsor Islamabad Meditrainian A-Division League and Super League. IFA president Ch Saleem, secretary Syed Sharafat Hussain Bukhari, former PFF information secretary Rana Tanveer Ahmed, vice president M Zaman, Al-Faisal FC president M Shadeer, Huma FC president Syed Zakir Hussian Naqvi along with others were also present on the occasion. Ghouri FC ended the first half leading 1-0 with Shahzad scoring opening goal. Tramri FC bounced back in settle as they struck thrice to register title victory. Faizan slammed two and Jawad one.–Staff Reporter


Narwhal crowned Cricket Cup champions

ISLAMABAD - Narwhal won the Whales Cricket Extravaganza Cricket Cup 2018 after thrashing ORCA XI by 8 wickets in the final played at IBA University Ground Karachi. Talking to The Nation, cricket organiser Hamood Ur Rehman said six teams participated in the tournament. Narwhal and ORCA earned the right to play in the final after defeating their respective opponents in the semifinals. ORCA won the toss and elected to bat first and posted decent 107-5 in allotted 10 overs. Rafay hit whirlwind 66 off 15 balls. Nasit Bokhari bagged 2-22. Thanks to sensational unbeaten 90 by player of the final Nasit Bokhari, who played 20 balls to smash 10 boundaries and 6 sixes to ensure Narwhal won the title with 5 balls to spare. Raja Raees of Whales College conducted the event in highly befitting manner. Test cricketer Moin Khan was the chief guest and distributed prizes among the teams and players. He lauded the efforts of the organisers and termed a good omen for school and college cricket.–Staff Reporter