CHITTAGONG (Bangladesh) (AFP) - Tillakaratne Dilshan and Thilan Samarweera smashed unbeaten half-centuries to put Sri Lanka in the driver's seat on the third day of the second Test against Bangladesh here on Monday. Dilshan, who top-scored with 162 in the first innings, hit 81 while Samarweera scored 72 as the visitors reached 296-4 in their second innings at close for a massive overall lead of 472 runs. Kumar Sangakkara also played a vital knock of 54 to tighten the screws on the hosts, who had scored 208 in their first essay in reply to Sri Lanka's 384. The day's final session belonged clearly to Sri Lanka with their batsmen adding 109 runs without losing any wicket.Dilshan, dropped on 55 off Mashrafe Mortaza, hit nine fours in his 114-ball knock and dominated the 131-run unbroken stand for the fifth wicket with Samarweera.Sangakkara initially paved the way for the middle-order with his sensible 103-ball effort containing four fours. He reached his 28th Test half-century with a pulled four to the midwicket before playing on to his stumps off part-time spinner and captain Mohammad Ashraful (2-29).Sangakkara also shared a 68-run stand for the third wicket with skipper Mahela Jayawardene after the visitors had lost both their openers with 55 on board. The prolific Sri Lankan captain failed with the bat in his 100th Test, tamely chipping left-arm spinner Enamul Haque to short cover after making 22 off as many as 92 balls.He had scored 11 in Sri Lanka's first innings total of 384. The day's first wicket fell when makeshift opener Prasanna Jayawardene offered a catch off Ashraful to Shakib Al Hasan at short midwicket for 27. Paceman Shahadat Hossain then removed the other opening batsman Malinda Warnapura (28) two balls later, umpire Nigel Llong adjudging the batsman leg before wicket. Sri Lanka lead the two-Test series 1-0 after winning the opening game in Dhaka by 107 runs. Bangladesh have lost 51 of their 58 Tests so far, with six draws and a lone victory against lowly Zimbabwe. SCOREBOARD SRI LANKA, 1st innings: 384 (T. Dilshan 162, S. Hasan 4-109) BANGLADESH, 1st innings: 208 (M. Mortaza 63, A. Mendis 4-71) SRI LANKA, 2nd innings: (overnight 13-0): M. Warnapura lbw b S. Hossain 27 P. Jayawardene c S. Hasan b Ashraful 28 K. Sangakkara b Ashraful 54 M. Jayawardene c Kayes b Haque 22 T. Samarweera not out 72 T. Dilshan not out 81 EXTRAS: (b2, lb2, w3, nb5) 12 TOTAL: (for four wickets) 296 Fall of wickets: 1-55 (P. Jayawardene), 2-55 (Warnapura), 3-123 (M. Jayawardene), 4-165 (Sangakkara) BOWLING: Mortaza 15-3-53-0 S. Hossain 23-2-67-1 (nb1, w2) S. Hasan 12-1-39-0 (nb1) Enamul 25.5-1-66-1 (nb3, w1) Ashraful 11.1-1-29-2 M. Hossain 7-0-35-0 R. Hasan 1-0-3-0. Overs: 95 Toss: Sri Lanka Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WIS) and Nigel Llong (ENG) TV umpire: Nadir Shah (BAN) Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)