ISLAMABAD - As MQM Chief Altaf Hussain failed to woo MNA Nabeel Gabol, Speaker National Assembly Iyaz Sadiq has accepted his resignation after brief telephonic conversation with him. Although Gabol’s resignation as MNA has been accepted by the speaker, yet he is still member of Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM).

Nabeel Gabol, who submitted his resignation in the National Assembly’s Secretariat a week before, made a telephonic call to Speaker Iyaz Sadiq, assuring him that he had not submitted resignation under any pressure.

Parliamentary sources said that the speaker had asked Nabeel Gabol to come and meet him in his chamber about the matter of his resignation on March 3. Gabol did not turn up in Speaker’s chamber but made a telephonic call, assuring him that he had not submitted resignation under any pressure.

When contacted, MQM senior member Wasay Jalil confirmed that Nabeel Gabol is still member of MQM despite the fact that he had resigned from MNA seat.

Sources said that Gabol’s resignation has created fear of defeat in MQM ranks in its home constituency where PTI’s candidate got second highest votes in general election 2013. Altaf Hussain, sources said, had personally made efforts to woo Gabol to take back his resignation from National Assembly (NA), as he wants to keep intact his party’s hold in the area.

Sources said that Altaf Hussain chief has also asked party members to avoid giving any statement against Nabeel Gabol and make all-out efforts to woo him.

Nabeel Gabol, sources said, was also conveyed that he would not be much bound to attend all the meetings, rallies and functions related to party as he would be free to work in his own fashion.

Sources said that Gabol tendered his resignation despite MQM’s attempts.

MQM had earlier issued a statement that Gabol due to some personal reasons was unable to provide necessary time and attention to his constituency to resolve public issues. Party had advised him to resign from the seat and Gabool had submitted his resignation to the speaker of the National Assembly. MQM’s lawmaker Nabeel Gabol won election from NA-246 (Azizabad) with 137,874 votes against PTI’s Amir Sharjeel who secured 31,875.