PESHAWAR - The 45th meeting of Apex Committee of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa held here yesterday reviewed the implementation of National Action Plan and safe repatriation of displaced persons with special focus on overall law and order situation in the province and Fata. Governor Engineer Iqbal Zafar Jhagra presided over the meeting.

The committee discussed in detail the prevailing law and order situation in the province and Fata and reviewed the progress on implementation of previous decisions and return of displaced persons in tribal areas.

The committee expressed its satisfaction on progress to implement NAP and directed to take further steps in this regard.  The participants were also briefed about the security measures as well as the repatriation and rehabilitation arrangements in the affected areas. It was decided that expeditious steps would be taken to ensure the dignified repatriation of TDPs to their homes. It was agreed that the blocking of illegal SIMs being used for criminal activities will strictly be ensured and further steps would be taken in this regard. The meeting also reviewed the progress on measures taken to eliminate illegal transactions.

KP Governor Engr Iqbal Zafar Jhagra welcomed the participants of the meeting saying entire nation was united in the war against wave of militancy and terrorism. “Terrorism in any form will be eliminated and our brave forces will not let the sacrifices given by the people go waste,” he said. The governor said entire nation had declared the war against terrorism and stood united with security forces to uproot the menace of militancy and terrorism.

He said every possible endeavour would be made to ensure early and dignified return of TDPs and their rehabilitation. He said provision of facilities durting TDPs’ repatriation would be ensured. He further said that the great sacrifices rendered by security forces and people would not go waste and the nation was committed to face any challenge in future too.

The meeting was attended by Chief Minister Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Pervaiz Khattak, Corps Commander Peshawar Lt-Gen Hidayatur Rehman, KP Chief Secretary Amjad Ali Khan, IGP Nasir Khan Durrani, IGFC, Maj-Gen Mazhar Shaheen Mahmood, Commandant Frontier Constabulary Liaqat Ali Khan, Additional Chief Secretary Fata Muhammad Aslam, principal secretary to governor, secretary home Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and other concerned officials.