ISLAMABAD- Syed Khursheed Shah, Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly, said tpday that he had proposed three names for the post of Chief Election Commissioner.

Talking to media after a meeting with Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, he said that he put forth names including Saeeduz Zaman Siddiqui, Rana Bhagwan Das and Ajmal Mian. He said that he would take into confidence different political parties including PTI and MQM as well on the issue, hoping that consensus would be developed over one particular name.

Shah said that he has met Jamat-e-Islami leadership over the issue and would discuss the matter with other parties like ANP, PPP Sherpao and others. PPP leader said that he would also contact PTI leadership for consultation added that he still considered PTI as a Parliamentary party as their resignations have not been accepted so far. He said PPP has raised objection on name of Justice Saeed Zaman Sidduiqui and the ruling side objected on name of Justice Ajmal Mian  while Justice Bhagwan Dan himself avoiding to get the hot seat.

It may be pointed out that CEC post was lying vacant since the resignation of Fakhruddin G Ibrahim in August 2013.