Seniors face juniors in hockey series

LAHORE - Pakistan senior team will take on under-21 hockey team in the three-match hockey series commencing from Saturday here at the National Hockey Stadium. Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) spokesman Wednesday said: "Both the sides are already attending preparation camps here and will play matches from October 8 to 10. The senior team is being trained at the National Hockey Stadium under head coach Khawaja Junaid, while the junior squad is getting training at Johar Hockey Stadium under junior head coach Tahir Zaman.” Incidentally, both the teams have upcoming international engagements in Malaysia. The national side is getting ready to defend their title at the 4th Asian Champions Trophy in Kuantan, scheduled from October 20 to 30, whereas the junior team will be in action at the Sultan of Johor Cup in Johor Baru, scheduled to be held from October 31 to November 6. Sultan of Johor Cup has now become the most prestigious annual international tournament for the national junior teams.–Staff Reporter



National Ranking Tennis from 16th

ISLAMABAD - Pakistan Ordnance Factory (POF), an affiliated unit of Pakistan Tennis Federation, will hold the 1st Chairman POF Sports Board National Ranking Tennis Championship 2016 from October 16 at POF Wah Sports Complex. The event is PTF’s grade-I national tournament and carries Rs 500,000 prize money. PTF secretary M Khalid Rehmani said POF Sports Board president Dr Amir Murad was nominated as organising committee head, while Asad Durrani would act as organising secretary. “The event includes men’s singles, ladies singles, juniors U-17 singles, boys’ U-14 singles, boys’ and girls’ U-10 singles, men’s doubles and 45 plus seniors’ doubles. The 10 and under event will be played with modified green dot balls, being provided to every organiser by PTF free of cost. Last date of entry is 13th.–Staff Reporter


Ravi Club enter memorial football final

ISLAMABAD - Ravi Club Islamabad reached the final of the All-Punjab Chaudhry Rahmat Ali Memorial Football Tournament after defeating Poona Club Islamabad 4-3 on penalty kicks in the first semifinal played here at Municipal Stadium, Rawalpindi on Wednesday. District Football Association (DFA) chairman Shaukat Ali Khan was the chief guest, while IFA president  Saleem Chaudhry, secretary Syed Sharafat Hussain Bukhari, Ravi Club [resident Syed Tanveer Ahmed and Rana Tanveer Ahmed along with others were also present on the occasion. Both the teams played exceptionally well but couldn’t manage to score a single goal. Ravi FC scored four goals, while Poona managed to score on 3 penalty kicks. Abbas, Akash, Adnan and Farooq scored for Ravi, while Danyal, Hussain and Ahmed scored for Poona FC.–Staff Reporter


Akram annexes memorial golf title

LAHORE - Pakistan senior professional golfer M Akram annexed the 8th edition of the Manzoor Hussain Memorial Golf Championship title here at the par 72 golf course of Lahore Gymkhana yesterday. The event was held for senior golf professionals as well as for amateurs and ladies. This annual event was hosted by Syed Shaghil Husain in memory of his father Syed Manzoor Hussain, who was an eminent golfer and played the sport at Lahore Gymkhana for nearly 50 years. Akram accumulated a score of gross 74, which fetched him the first prize and a glittering trophy. Akhter Ali came second and his gross score was 76. Ahmed Zafar with a handicap of 4 played superbly and won the first prize in amateur section with a gross score of 74. Mohsin Zafar was runner-up with a gross 76. In the amateur net section, Salman Gulzar won the first net with a net 70 while Ahsan Gulzar was runner-up. National ladies champion Ghazala Yasmin won the first position in ladies competition while Mrs Samia Javed Ali was runner-up. As for other prizes, the longest drive was won by George Masih with a tee shot of 277 yards. The closest to pin prize was won by M Arif, whose tee shot at par 3 ninth hole landed just 9 feet from the cup. At the end of the match, all the senior and veteran pros were given cash prizes and the amateurs were presented with souvenirs. The championship trophy was awarded to M Akram.–Staff Reporter