ISLAMABAD  -  President Dr Arif Alvi administered oath to six new ministers at a simple but impressive ceremony held at the Presidency on Friday hence leading the tally of number of ministers in the federal cabinet to 34.

Those who were administered as new ministers in the federal cabinet included Muhammad Faisal Vawda, Senator Azam Khan Swati, Muhammad Mian Soomro, Ali Amin Gandapur and Sahibzada Muhammad Mehboob Sultan and Zartaj Gul Wazir.

Zartaj Gul Wazir took oath as minister of state while others as federal ministers.

Portfolios to the new ministers have yet to be notified. The Constitution allows a maximum of 49 members in the federal cabinet – as per the formula defined in the 18th Constitutional Amendment and calculated on the strength of the Senate and the National Assembly.

It allows the prime minister to have a maximum of five advisers at a time. Prime Minister Imran currently has four advisers, one each on accountability, media, political affairs, and overseas Pakistanis.

The Constitution does not specify the maximum number of special assistants a prime minister can have and a special assistant is not counted as a member of the federal cabinet.

APP adds: With the induction of six new ministers the size of the Federal Cabinet swelled to 30, including 24 federal ministers and six ministers of state. The Cabinet also includes four advisers and four special assistants, who are treated as members of the Cabinet, and can attend Cabinet meetings on special invitation by the prime minister, however they do not take oath of their office.