Islamabad: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday withheld notification of Imran Khan as elected member of the National Assembly on two constituencies.

The notifications of Imran Khan’s victory from NA-131 and NA-53 were withheld as the ECP has taken notice of violation of the secrecy of ballot by Khan while polling his vote on July 25.

Earlier, the ECP issued notifications of newly-elected members of the national and provincial assemblies. The ECP also withheld the notification of those elected members, whose results were challenged in high courts.

Further, the notification of Khan’s victory from three constituencies including NA-95, NA-35 and NA-243 were conditioned with the decision of the ECP in the secrecy of ballots cast.

The competent authority chief approved the summary for issuing notifications which were also uploaded on the electoral body’s website.

According to details, notifications of candidates belonging to constituencies whose results have been challenged in courts were withheld. As many as 30 constituencies notifications have been withheld and will be issued after the verdicts of the cases are announced.

Meanwhile, the notification of former chief minister Pervez Khattak’s victory from NA-25 Nowshera was withheld. The notification of Khattak’s victory was condition with the decision of court decision.

It is pertinent to mention here that the polls were delayed on two National seats and six provincial assemblies. The election for these seats will be held within 60 days after the newly-elected members of the both assemblies take oath.

Moreover, victory notifications of candidates in NA-23, NA-90, NA-106, NA-108, NA-112, NA-140, NA-215, NA-230 and NA-239 were also withheld citing the similar reasons.