ISLAMABAD - The Islamabad High Court (IHC) Thursday declared the appointments of some 45 officials in Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on deputation as illegal and directed to send them in their related departments. IHC judge Justice Shaukat Aziz Siddiqui issued these direction in a petition moved by Saifullah Jokheo and other employees of FIA who challenged the appointments of these officials on deputation in FIA.

They contended in their petition through their counsel Shah Khawar that they are facing exploitation due to appointments of officials on deputation in FIA and it is also affecting their seniority. Therefore, they prayed before the court that these officials should be sent back to their related departments.

Shah Khawar argued that the appointment of officials on deputation from other departments on political basis has become a routine matter. He added that later, these officials are made permanent part of FIA, which is violation of FIA Act 1974.

Deputy Attorney General Tariq Mehmood Jehangiri argued that officials of same grade from other government departments could be transferred in FIA as per FIA transfer rules.

After hearing the arguments of both the sides, Justice Siddiqui termed these appointments on deputation as illegal.

These officials of grade 19 include Jawad Ahmed Qureshi (additional director Lahore), Jameel Ahmed Khan (additional director Islamabad), Khurshid Ahmed Khan Marwat (additional director Karachi), Dr Shafi-ur-Rehman (additional director Headquarters Islamabad), Tahir Jamil (additional director Islamabad), Riaz Hameed Chaudhary (additional director Lahore), Asadullah Faiz (additional director Islamabad), Amir Ali Khan (additional director Headquarter Islamabad), Badar Shafi (additional director monitoring Punjab) and Moazzam Ali Bhutto (additional director Islamabad). Officials of grade 18 include Zaib-u-Allah Khan, Aroj-ul-Hassan, Naveed Khan Tareen, Mazhar Irshad Insari, Usman Ghani, Muhammad Zahid Bhatti, Noor Khan, Saadat Ali, Ghazanfar Hussain Kazmi, Mazhar Hussain Shah, Muhammad Naseem-ul-Haq, Afraz Ahmed, Waseem Ahmed Bhindar, Agha Muhammad Ali Abbas and Shaghir Ahmed Watto.

The officials of grade 17 include Syed Roshan Mustafa Gilani, Ehsan Ahmed, Awais Behram, Ali Adnan Manwar, Shoib Saleem, Agha Fahad Ahmed Khan, Ali Raza, Wakas Motan, Asghar Ali Mangrio, Aurengzaib-ul-Hassan, Ali Zeeshan Haider, Mehmood Ahmed, Syed Gada Haider Shah, Syed Yazam Ali Shah while grade 16 officials include Muhammad Ali Dar, Farrukh Hayat, Khushal Mir, Asif Yar, Muhammad Hayat and Ali Akbar.