Brisbane- Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Akram , Adam Gilchrist, Viv Richards and MS Dhoni are the leading contenders for the crown of the greatest one-day cricketer of all time, in an exercise conducted by the Cricket Monthly. The winner - determined by a jury of 50 players, commentators and cricket writers from around the world - will be announced in the March issue of the magazine, published next week.

The jury's choice of the five greatest comprise two keeper-batsmen, a magician fast bowler, and two colossal batsmen.

Adam Gilchrist's ODI career spanned only 12 years - 1996 to 2008 - but he set a benchmark for his breed. He rattled along at 97 runs for 100 balls and confirmed his status as an all-time great with a whirlwind 149 that won Australia the World Cup final in 2007.

If Gilchrist reinvented the role of a wicketkeeper-batsman, MS Dhoni - the only current player in the top five - has emerged as one of the greatest finishers in ODI cricket. Mixing cheeky running with power-packed, inventive strokeplay, Dhoni has time and again taken India past the finish line. And he played a huge role in two big one-day finals - with the bat in the 2011 World Cup, and with inspired captaincy in the 2013 Champions Trophy.

Through the late '70s and '80s, one cricketer dominated the limited-overs game like no other, and helped his side to two World Cups along the way. Viv Richards averaged 47 (at a time when batsmen in the top seven averaged 29) and scored at a strike rate of 90 (in an era when the norm was 66). Well before Powerplays and fielding restrictions, Richards punished bowlers with a wide and devastating array of strokes. His electric fielding and fierce captaincy could torment opponents too.

If Richards could do anything with a bat, the same could be said of Wasim Akram with the ball. In a career that lasted nearly two decades Akram developed from a young tearaway to a masterful swing bowler who could bowl six different deliveries in an over. He finished with 502 wickets - still comfortably the most for a fast bowler. The day it mattered the most, in March 1992, he finished as Man of the Match.

Courtesy: ESPN