The new unanimously-elected office bearers of Kashmir Press Club Mirpur took oath of their offices for next one-year term here the other day.

The oath-taking ceremony was held at the Mirpur Press Club auditorium where Advisor to AJK Government on Information Murtaza Durrani administered oath to the office bearers of the press club including Altaf Hamid Rao (President), Muhammad Zafeer Baba (Sr Vice President), Abid Chaudhry (Vice President), Shuja Aziz Jiraal (Secretary General), Sajaad Qayyum Khanpuri (Deputy Secretary General), Tajdar Subhani (Finance Secretary) and Iftikhar Jiraal (Information Secretary).

Mirpur Deputy Commissioner Ch Muhammad Tariq chaired the ceremony. The immediate-past President of the club Syed Abid Hussain Shah, Central Secretary General CUJ Arshad Mahmood Butt, outgoing Secretary General Sajaad Jiraal, ex Secretary General Sohrab Ahmed Khan, senior Journalists Rana Muhammad Shabir Rajorvi, Raja Habib Ullah Khan, Khalid Anjam Chaudhry, Haji Rizwan Akram and other members of the general council of the club also graced the occasion in large number.

Speaking on the occasion, Advisor Murtaza Durrani called upon the journalists to focus on utilising all their professional skills for the security, stability and socio-economic development of the country including Azad Jammu Kashmir. Lashing out at the MQM Supremo Altaf Hussain for his recent remarks against the national security institutions and the national interests, he said that those harping against the national security institutions and the national interests could not be spared.

Durrani urged upon the national and regional print and electronic media to black out such live and recorded transmissions containing “filthy language” against the national interests. He appreciated Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA) for imposing restriction over airing such material by the electronic media derogatory to the national interests.

Later, he announced Rs0.5 million donation for the Kashmir Press Club.