ISLAMABAD (APP) - The Senate Standing Committee on Privatisation sought details of the terms and conditions applied to the privatisation of HBL, KESC, PTCL and other major public sector entities. The committee which met here on Friday under the chairmanship of Senator Adnan Khan, directed the Privatisation Commission to provide a detailed schedule to the committee so that the committee could see whether the contractual agreements have been implemented in letter and spirit or not. Members of the committee underlined the need for ensuring transparency in the privatisation process, and creating a competitive environment to generate greater revenue from the proceeds. They also voiced concern over the performance of the KESC, and directed the Privatisation Commission to provide details of the contractual agreement. KESC has not increased generation capacity and has also failed to streamline its distribution network, some Senators observed. The Committee asked the Privation Commission to review the privatisation policy and ensure level playing field. Earlier, Secretary Privatisation Commission briefed the committee on the countrys privatisation policy. He said that the Privatisation Commission was actively engaged in recommending policy guidelines, and taking decisions on matters like restructuring, deregulation and regulatory issues. He informed that the banking industry has been privatised substantially, and now 80 percent of the banking sector is under private ownership. Privatisation will be conducted in public private partnership moot, and mechanism would be framed for such a partnership after consultative process. Secretary Privatisation also highlighted other salient features of the policy. He said that 23 major entities were now on the active list of privatisation program. The committee directed the PC to bring improvement in the process, and identify the bottlenecks in the way of smooth implementation of the policy. The meeting was attended by Senators Islamuddin Sheikh, Ilyas Ahmed Bilour, Eng. Malik Rashid Ahmed Khan, M Saleh Shah, M Ishaq Dar, Professor Ibrahim Khan, Abdur Rahim Khan Mandokhail and Saeed Ahmed Hashmi, besides senior officials of the PC.