LAHORE - Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) retained the same 16-man squad for the first Test against New Zealand in Dubai, which humiliated Australia in a series earlier this week.

PCB spokesman Thursday said that board chairman Shaharyar M Khan had approved the same 16-member squad for the first Test against New Zealand, following its recommendation by the five-member selection committee headed by former captain Moin Khan. Pakistan won the two-Test series against Australia 2-0, their first series victory against their opponents in 20 years.

Chief selector Moin Khan said it was necessary to keep the consistency in the first of three Tests starting from Sunday. “This is to ensure there is consistency, which will bring more stability and strengthen team bonding and combination,” Moin is quoted as saying.

Moin said the win highlighted the efforts by the players and the support staff. “We’re proud of Pakistan team’s achievement in the series against Australia, which has been acclaimed locally and internationally. It was a heroic performance, led by the experienced duo of Younus Khan and Misbahul Haq, admirably supported by the youngsters, and good training by the support staff,” Moin added.

“There is no change to the side from the Abu Dhabi Test against Australia as we wanted to ensure there is consistency.”

The remaining two Tests will be played in Dubai (November 17-21) and Sharjah (November 26-30). Pakistan will also play two Twenty20 and five one-day international against New Zealand, for which squads will be announced later.

SQUAD: Misbahul Haq (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Ehsan Adil, Haris Sohail, Imran Khan, M Hafeez, M Talha, Rahat Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shan Masood, Taufiq Umar, Yasir Shah, Younus Khan, Zulfiqar Babar.