NOWSHERA – After finalizing the names of their candidates for each constituency of district Nowshera, various political parties including Awami National Party, Jamaat-e-Islami and Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarian, PTI, JUI-S and JUI-F are flexing their muscles to secure two seats of National Assembly and five seats of Provincial Assembly of the district.

Like previous elections, the political scenario of Nowshera is entirely unpredictable and no party can claim clean sweep all the seats of National Assembly and Provincial Assembly. In 2002 general elections MMA had secured all the two seats of National Assembly but among the remaining five seats of Provincial Assembly Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians secured had two seats, and Awami National Party, Pakistan People’s Party-Sherpao and JUI-S had secured one seat each out of the total five National Assembly seats.

In 2008 general elections due to the boycott of Jamaat-e-Islami one seat of NA-05 was won by PPPP candidate Tariq Khattak and NA-06 seat was won by Awami National Party candidate Maswood Abad Khattak while out of the remaining five seats Provincial Assembly two each were won by Awami National Party and PPPP while one seat was secured by PPP-P now called Qaumi Wattan Party.

This time the situation is completely different as Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf is also claiming itself a major political forces in the politics of district Nowshera. For NA-05 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has awarded party tickets to former MPA Parvez Khattak while on NA-06 it has fielded Azizullah Jan. On PK-12 Nowshera Khaliqur Rahman, for PK-13 Parvez Khattak who is also the candidate for National Assembly, PK-14 Jamshedudine, for PK-15 Mohammad Idrees and for PK-16 former PPPP MPA Qurban Ali Khan have been allotted ticket.

Tough contest is also expected between Jamaat-e-Islami and Awami National party candidates as Daud Khattak of ANP will face Asif Luqman Qazi on NA-05 while Maswood Abas Khan will face Mirajuddine Khan of Jamaat-e-Islami. On the seat of Provincial Assembly PK-12 Mian Iftikhar Husain will face Jamaat-e-Islami Nader Shah Khattak on PK-13, ANP candidate Shahid Khattak will face Hanif Khan of Jamaat-e-Islami on PK 14 Malik Aftab will face Asif Luqman Qazi who is also contesting on provincial Assembly seat, on PK-15 Khalil Abas will face Mirajiddine while on PK-16 Parvez Ahmad Khan will face Inayat-ur-Rahman.

Similarly, Pakistan People’s Party has nominated Engineer Tariq Khattak and Liaqat Ali Shah Gillani from NA-05 and NA-06 respectively. Other candidates include Syed Iftikhar Ali Shah for PK-12, Mian Yahya Shah for PK-13, Liaqat Ali Shabab for PK-15 Baseer Ahmad Khattak, PK-16 Rahim Shah Kaka Khail have been awarded party tickets.

Likewise on NA-05 and NA-06 JUI-F have awarded party tickets to Mufti Sajjad and Qari Umar Ali respectively while on PK-12 Ajmal Khan, on PK-13 Mufti Imtiaz, PK-14 Mufti Hakim Ali Haqqani and PK16 Hafiz Salman have been awarded party tickets. 

The JUI-S has fielded only one candidate Maulana Hamidul Haq on NA-06 who also remained former MNA after winning his seat in 2002 general election. Pakistan Muslim League (N) has also allotted tickets to their party workers which include Pir Bin Yameen for NA-05, Syed Zulfiqar Ali Shah for NA-06, Ashfaq Ahmad PK-12, Rashid Ali Shah PK-13, Ikhtiar Wali PK-14, Abdul Ghafoor Khattak PK-15 and Saleem Mohammad Yousafzi PK-16.

Each political party has started its elections campaign and all the major political parties including Pakistan People’s Party, Awami National Party, Jamaat-e-Islami, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (F), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (s) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf are claiming that they would get maximum seats from Nowshera, however, the time would decide who will succeed on the political pitch of district Nowshera.

It is pertinent to mention here that in 2008 general elections one seat of National Assembly secured by Awami National Party while the second seat of NA-06 was secured by Pakistan People Party parliamentarian while JUI-f had not secured any single seat from this district.