Lahore   -   Fast bowler Mohammad Amir and leg-spinner Shadab Khan have been named in the 16-member squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa, while opener Shan Masood will replace the retiring Mohammad Hafeez.

Mohammad Amir, who was dropped for Pakistan's home series against Australia and New Zealand over loss of rhythm has been recalled to the squad for the tour of South Africa to join a pace-attack also featuring Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi and even Mohammad Abbas, who missed the third Test against New Zealand with a shoulder injury.

Meanwhile, Shadab Khan, who didn't play the Tests against Australia due to a groin injury and then missed out on a place for the squad against New Zealand due to the same reason, seems to have made a full recovery. His comeback has come at the expense of off-spinner Bilal Asif, who failed to make too much of a mark after making a splash in his debut Test against Australia.

Fast bowler Mir Hamza and uncapped batsman Saad Ali, both of whom were in the squad for the series against New Zealand but didn't get a game, have also been axed. Mohammad Hafeez's Test retirement has paved the way for the return of Shan Masood, who has played 12 Tests for Pakistan and has a hundred and three fifties to his name. He'll have competition from Fakhar Zaman, who returns to the squad after sitting the New Zealand Tests out with a knee injury. Zaman has reportedly recovered faster than initially expected.

SQUAD: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi.