Lahore - In build up to the divisional level of the Punjab Youth Festival (PYF) 2014, donkey cart races and donkeys’ beauty contest were staged to give a different colour to the festivity here in Defence on Friday.

Divisional Sports Convener MPA Mian Naseer was the chief guest of the events. MPA Yasmin Sohal was also among the guests and gave prizes to the winning owners of the donkeys.

To the amusement of all, ‘Nashaee Times donkey’ owned by Ch Jabbar won the beauty contest, which was unique in many ways and first of its kind. The competition was participated by around 30 animals which were beautified by various materials like glitter and colourful cloths. The Nashaee Times impressed the judges enough to win the beauty contest while Chotay Bantu of Mian Kashif was runner-up in the event and Sher-e-Lahore of Sakhi Mohammad was third.

In the other competition, around 50 donkey carts took part in the race that started from Defence more to Walton bus stop. Sher-e-Lahore donkey cart owned by Ustad Shahabuddin won the race and was followed by Wehshi Haseena of Arshad Ali while Reema owned by Javed took the third position.

Meanwhile, the competition of special people continued at Punjab Stadium in collaboration with Sports Board Punjab (SBP). In men’s blind athletics events, Zahid Mahmood earned limelight while in girls’ category, success went in favour of Huma Ashraf. The event attracted special children players of education centres from Lahore, Sheikhupura, Kasur, and Kahna.

Mentally impede children took part in 100 metre races and Shahzad Maqbool of Sharakpur was declared winner while M Bilal of Iqbal Town was placed second and Zaheer third. In girls’ category, Huma Ashraf was the winner of top honour while Rabia Islam of Government College University took the second position and Saima of Sangla Hills was third.

In boys’ class of blind 100 metres race, Zahid Mahmood of Johar Town took the first position, Abdul Shakoor of GCU was declared second while Punjab University’s Ziauddin was placed third.

In the wheel chair race of the special people, Fahad Ishaq was adjudged first, Faisal Murtaza was second and Nawaz Rashid was third.