AHMEDPUR EAST: The PML-N is enjoying support of 72 out of 88 union councils chairmen in the District Council Bahawalpur and is hopeful of bring its chairman in the house.

According to the PML-N leadership, the party had won 49 seats of UCs chairman in the local body’s elections. Soon after the LB polls, the PML-N lawmakers including Najeebuddin Owaisi, Ali Hassan Gillani, Khalid Warran and Khalid Jajja contacted independent winners and succeeded in roping in 12 independent UC chairmen into the ruling party. Now PML-N would easily elect its chairman and four vice chairmen of District Council Bahawalpur along with its nominees on reserved seats without any difficulty.

Another report says that former Tehsil Nazim Makhdoom Syed Samiul Hassan Gillani called on both Hamza Shahbaz and Salman Shahbaz and assured them of his group’s three elected UC chairmen and councillors support for the PML-N.Earlier, his group’s one Kot Khalifa UC chairman Sheikh Khalid Hameed had joined the PML-N on the move of MNA Ali Hassan Gillani. Meanwhile, all the aspirants of PML-N tickets for chairman and vice chairmen of district council Bahawalpur were summoned by the PML-N special committee and interviewed them.–Staff Reporter

It has been learnt that Yasar Salim Sheikh from Chanigoth is likely to be selected for the slot of vice chairmanship of district council Bahawalpur from Ahmedpur East Tehsil.