ISLAMABAD -  Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) has finalised names of party candidates for the Senate elections from Federal Capital and Khyber Pakhtunkhawa while shortlisted names for Punjab but the formal announcement in this connection would be made today.

The Parliamentary Board meeting held under the chair of Nawaz Sharif approved the name of Pir Sabir Shah, the senior party leader from Khyber-Pakhtunkhawa, to contest the Senate election from the province where the party has requisite strength to get one general seat.

Asad Junajo and Mushahid Hussain Sayed would contest elections against the two seats from the federal capital where the electoral college for these elections is National Assembly where the party has absolute majority.

From Punjab Farooq Khan, Dr. Asif Kirmani, Rana Maqbool, Haroon Akhtar, Shaheen Butt, Zubair Gul, Nuzhat Amir, Sadia Abbasi, Ishaq Dar, Hafiz Abdul Karim, Nasir Bhutta, Irfan Daha and Kamral Michal are almost finalised but the announcement in this connection would be made today as party chief Nawaz Sharif wanted to have a final word with Chief Minister Punjab in this connection.

Sources in the party informed that the last minute changes in the list could not be ruled out especially in case the candidature of former finance minister Ishaq Dar was challenged on legal grounds because he is fugitive of court of law.


The Election Commission of Pakistan has announced that polling for the four Senate seats for the Federally-Administered Tribal Areas will be held on March 3.

According to the ECP, nomination papers for the Senate election for the Fata can be filed by Monday.  

Members of the National Assembly from the Fata will elect the senators for their area.

Meanwhile, the ECP has appointed Justice Aamer Farooq of the Islamabad High Court as tribunal for Islamabad and the Fata,  Justice Munib Akhtar of the Sindh High Court for Sindh, Justice Aminud Din Khan of Lahore High Court for Punjab, Justice Musarrat Hilali of Peshawar High Court for the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, and Justice Ejaz Swati of Balochistan High Court for Balochistan for disposal of appeals against decisions of the returning officers concerned regarding rejection or acceptance of the nomination papers of candidates for Senate elections.