WARBURTON-Position-holder students of secondary education classes were conferred commendatory shields and prizes at a grand ceremony titled “Annual Prize Distribution 2017-18” held at Govt High School Warburton (GHSW) here the other day.

Nankana Sahib District Education Officer (DEO) Rana Ehtashamul Haq presided over the ceremony which was organised by GHSW Principal Javed Ashraf Shooka.

BISE Lahore Controller of Examination Prof Nasir Jamil and Nankana Sahib District Education Authority Chief Executive Officer Muhammad Irshad Rohail were the chief guests. DEO E/M Javed Babar and Nankana Sahib District Monitoring Officer Khawaja Waqar Ahmad were the guests of honour. They awarded souvenirs and certificates to the position-holders.

The most important event of the ceremony was the conferral of special award - a new brand motorbike - on Fahad Mustjab for securing 1st position in the Secondary School Certificate examination held in 2017 by scoring 1,056 marks.

The guests motivated the students to move forward and make their life a success. Prof Nasir Jamil admired the way of prize distribution, discipline and results. The education officers stressed the need for increase in enrolment of students at schools. They also emphasised their ethical training. Mr Nasir Jamil announced the establishment of paper marking centre of SSC exams at the GHSW.

Students, teachers and the GHSW principal expressed gratitude to Prof Nasir Jamil for giving honour to their institution. At the end, GHSW Principal Javed Shooka handed over memorable shields of special thanks to the guests of honour of the ceremony.