While browsing through the official website of Election Commission of Pakistan it transpired that PPP had not taken part in the general elections 2007-08 and it was the Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarian (PPPP) who had done so and was allotted the symbol of Arrow. There were two other PPPs (Sherpao) group and Shaheed Bhutto group who were allotted the symbols of Chiragh (lamp) & Mukka (fist) respectively. As the PPPP's president is Makhdoom Amin Fahim and it is his party that has formed the government. I am at a loss to comprehend as to how the Co-Chairman of PPP who does not have even a single member of the parliament from his party can dictate his terms to the PPPP and its President? Could some great advocate of the Supremacy of the Constitution, Rule of the Law and Power to the Parliament explain to this layman what form of the democracy and constitutional norms are being practiced in Pakistan at present?-COL (Retd) RIAZ JAFRI, Rawalpindi, via e-mail, June 27.