GILGIT - Six ministers of the provincial cabinet of Gilgit-Baltistan have taken oath of their offices at Chinar Baag. Governor G-B Barjees Tahir administered the oath to the newly-appointed ministers on Tuesday.

However, Senior Minister Akbar Taban refused to accept the portfolio.

Sources while quoting Taban as saying that he would decide about accepting the portfolio only after holding a meeting with the prime minister.

Besides, Chief Minister G-B Hafiz Hafeezur Rehman, the oath-taking ceremony was attended by politicians, government officials and representatives from civil society.

Those who took oath of their offices are Ibrahim Sanai (Ganche), Farman Ali (Astore), Janbaz Khan (Diamer), Muhammad Wakel (Diamer), Sobia Muqadam (Diamer) and Dr Muhammad Iqbal (Gilgit).

After oath-taking ceremony, Chief Minister Hafiz Hafeezur Rehman said that representatives of the districts Hunza-Nagir and Ghizar will also be accommodated in the second phase of cabinet expansion. He said that Akbar Taban agreed to take oath as a senior minister after the holy month of Ramazan.