Asif Mehmood & KASWAR KLASRA LONDON/ISLAMABAD The number of Muslim MPs has doubled in the House of Commons as seven British Pakistanis have won in the closest UK general elections in decades. Three Muslim women, all from Labour Party, have also been elected to the 650-member British Parliament for the first time. In addition, the Conservatives have got their first two Muslim MPs elected while the possibility of adding a third dashed to the ground after Zahid Iqbal had failed in overturning Labours 3,000 majority in Bradford West. Thursdays general elections were marked with a swing from Labour to the Conservatives and resulted in one of two Muslim ministers, Shahid Malik losing his parliamentary seat for Dewsbury in northern England by just over 1,500 votes. But Transport Minister Sadiq Khan defied the swing to retain his seat for Tooting in south London with a reduced majority of 2,500 votes. Khalid Mahmood also successfully defended his parliamentary seat for Labour in Birmingham Perry Bar for the second time, increasing his majority to more than 11,000. In Glasgow Central, Anas Sarwar also increased Labours majority to almost 16,000, replacing his father Mohammed Sarwar, who stepped down at the election after becoming Britains first Muslim MP back in 1979. Over 90 Muslim candidates including 22 women of various political persuasions contested the general election. Three Muslim women, all Labour, became the first to enter Parliament. The first Muslim woman to win was Yasmin Qureshi winning in the Bolton South East constituency in North-West England, but by a reduced majority of more than 8,600. Shabana Mahmood increased the majority of outgoing former International Development Secretary Clare Short from under 7,000 votes to more than 10,000 in Birmingham Ladywood, Central England. Rushnara Ali won with a huge majority of 11,000 defeating Abjol Miah of Respect Party to third place in Bethnal Green and Bow constituency of London. Liberal Democrats Ajmal Masroor came second. The first Muslim Conservatives to be elected were Sajid Javed, who retained Bromsgrove with an increased majority of more than 11,000 in Bromsgrove, central England and Rehman Chisti, who won by more than 8,500 votes in newly-created Gillingham and Rainham in south-east England. Nadhim Zahawi, the chief executive of online market research agency YouGov, also became the first Iraqi Kurd to become a UK MP by successfully defending the Conservatives 10,000-plus majority in Strafford, central England. As many as seven British Pakistanis including two women have been elected in the UK elections 2010. Five of these seven have won elections on the tickets of Labour Party while the rest of them have secured seats on the tickets of Conservative Party. The Great Britain heads towards a coalition government where Conservatives are seeking a comprehensive power sharing deal with Liberal Democrats. With these seven British Pakistanis who won elections, the number of Muslim parliamentarians in UK Parliament has increased to eight. There were four Muslim MPs in the last Parliament all of Pakistani-origin. For the first time, two British Pakistani women have made their way to British Parliament. According to the news emanating from London, a British Pakistani, Yasmin Qureshi, 47 years old practising barrister, held on to the Labour Party seat from Bolton southeast constituency (north west England), leaving behind her Conservative Party rival Andy Morgan by 2,955 votes. Yasmin contested the election in place of Dr Brian Iddon who has retired from politics. Barrister Shabana Mahmood, a Labour candidate, remained the other British Pakistani who won election with a lead of 19,950 votes. She defeated her nearest Liberal-Democrat rival Ayoub Khan who bagged 9,845 votes. Anas Sarwar, son of former Labour MP Muhammad Sarwar, made a successful entry into the mainstream British politics by winning the Glasgow Central constituency in the UK parliamentary election. Anas, a dentist by profession, was contesting on a seat vacated by his father who in 1997 became the first Muslim to enter British Parliament on a Labour Party ticket. Sarwar who emigrated from Toba Tek Singh in 1976 remained a British MP for 13 years before deciding to stand down from 2010 general election. Interesting development was that all the Pakistani British candidates who contested from the platform of Liberal Democrats faced defeat.