Dozens of local dignitaries including a number of former nazims and naib nazims have announced to support PML-N candidate for PA-296 Muhammad Shafiq in Sadiqabad in the May 11 general elections, claimed PML-N spokesman Abdul Saboor. 

He said that with the support of the local notables, the victory of the PML-N candidate was obvious in the elections and the opponents were assured of their defeat. He said that the influential people have reposed their trust in the leadership of Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif and pledged to elect the PML-N nominee with a heavy majority.

The spokesman told the media that Awami Ittehad chief Mir Fazal Elahi Fazli, ex-UC nazim Sajad Waraich, fromer naib nazim Saeed Ahmad, Maqboo, Talib Hussain, Nawaz, Abdul Raoof, Asad Nawaz, Javed Iqbal, Chacha Asghar, Rana Javed, Pervaiz, Khalid Mehmood, Raja Akram, Ehtashamul Haq, Shafi, Abdul Ghaffar, Afzal, Lateef, Khadam, Faizur Rehman, Arshad, Zubair, Liaqat, Sultan, Khaliq, Momin, Haji Shafi, Liaqat Qadri, Dr Munir, Khalid, Israr, Mumtaz, Malik brothers, Riazul Hassan, Abdul Qayyum and others have decided to support the PML-N.

Addressing public gatherings in Chaks 147, 152 and 157, the candidate for PA-296 said that all the party leaders and activists who sacrificed for the party were an asset. He claimed that their party would get landslide victories across the country and Nawaz Sharif would become the prime minister of Pakistan. He were of the view that his party made Pakistan and would also save her. He said that their party leadership was making efforts for the betterment of the people of Pakistan. On the occasion, local notable Saifullah along with his companions announced to quit the PPP and joined the PML-N.

PML-N leader Raees Mehboob Ahmad said that his party would make clean sweep of the general elections in Rahim Yar Khan district. He said that the PPP candidates and sons of Governor Mehmood will face defeats as PML-N has successfully removed the intra-party differences and gained strength thereof. From NA-197, PML-N candidate Arshad Leghari will win the National Assembly seat, he said.