ISLAMABAD - Supreme Judicial Council (SJC) met here Saturday under the chairmanship of Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and issued notices to two high court judges on the charges of misconduct and corruption. The notices were issued to Justice Muhammad Afzal Soomro, Judge Sindh High Court, and Justice Abdul Shakoor Paracha, Judge Lahore High Court. The SJC decided to constitute a two-member committee comprising Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan, Judge Supreme Court (SC), and Justice Khawaja Muhammad Sharif, CJ Lahore High Court (LHC), to further probe into the allegations levelled against Justice Muhammad Afzal Soomro. The committee will visit Karachi on upcoming August 17 for hearing and recording the statements of the complainants. The complainants have been asked to submit affidavits and provide further material to substantiate their allegations levelled against the said judge. The SJC also heard complainants SM Ismail and his son Dr Junaid Ismail against Justice Abdul Shakoor Paracha and, after deliberations, decided to further inquire into the matter by issuing notices to parties including Justice Paracha. The SJC also considered the complaint filed by SM Ismail against Justice Muhammad Akhtar Shabbir, former judge of LHC/SC, and Justice Syed Qalb-e-Hassan, former judge, defunct Islamabad High Court. It decided that though these two judges had ceased to hold offices, there was a need of an appropriate action that would be recommended against them under the law. The SJC took up the judgement of 14-member SC bench dated July 31 last and, in compliance with the said verdict, approved the addition of the following clause in the Code of Conduct for judges of Supreme Court and high courts. No judge of the superior judiciary shall render support in any manner whatsoever, including taking or administering oath in violation of the oath of office prescribed in the Third-Schedule to the Constitution, to any authority that acquires power otherwise than through the modes envisaged by the Constitution of Pakistan. The meeting was also attended by other members of SJC including Justice Javed Iqbal and Justice Sardar Muhammad Raza Khan, senior SC judges, Justice Tariq Pervez, CJ Peshawar High Court, Justice Khawaja Muhammad Sharif, CJ LHC, and Dr Faqir Hussain, Registrar SC/Secretary SJC. The SJC will meet again on August 29 to conduct further proceedings.