LAHORE - Aisamul Qureshi and Aqeel Khan won the doubles title of the inaugural Hassan Tariq Rahim Masters Cup Tennis Tournament at the hard courts of Lahore Gymkhana Club here on Sunday.

Aisam and Aqeel won 6-3, 6-2 in an hour and 15 minutes. Shahazad and Usman were no match to all round play and domination of Aisam and Aqeel. It was a one-sided affair witnessed by a huge crowd. It was after a very long time that such huge turnout was witnessed at a tennis match.

In the men’s singles match played earlier, Aqeel Khan came from behind to defeat Yasir Khan 5-7, 3-6, 6-2. Both the players relied on their ground strokes and rallied from the baseline. The match last for nearly two hours.

After the match, prizes were distributed among the winners/runners-up by Khawaja Ahmad Tariq Rahim, Salman Sididuque, Mian Misbahur Rehman, Ch Ahmad Saeed, Asim Jalil, Zahid Hussain, Zulekha Nisar, Jamil Ahmad and Ahmad Hussain.

The men’s doubles team of Aisam and Aqeel bagged Rs 60,000 each and trophies while runners-up pair of Shahzad Khan and Usman Ejaz bagged Rs 30,000 each and trophies. Men’s singles winner trophy and Rs 100,000 were given to Aqeel Khan while his younger brother Yasir Khan was awarded Rs 50,000.

After the match, Aisam praised the tournament committee for holding such a wonderful event and said it would go long way in promoting tennis. “I am very much enjoyed playing in Lahore Gymkhana, as I played my first Davis Cup here at Lahore Gymkhana Club way back in 1998. I will be very glad to play again next year, if the tournament will be held again.”

Aqeel said that definitely it was the best tennis tournament so far held in Pakistan. “The respect given to the players in this tournament was tremendous and the work done by tournament committee for holding the tournament in such a fabulous way is really commendable,” he said.

The Women’s singles winner Rida Khalid received trophy and Rs 50,000 while runner-up Mehreen Izhar got the trophy and Rs 25,000. The boys’ U-18 winner M Mudasir received trophy and Rs 40,000 while runner-up Arham Attique Khan got trophy and Rs 20,000. Chief referee Asif Riaz, who chaired the doubles final, was also given a cash reward of Rs 20,000.