QUETTA - The Election Commission will be issuing the schedule for by-election to more than 600 constituencies of Balochistan province within eight days, officials said.

According to them, polling could not take place in different union councils due to certain issues, such as election symbols being missing from the ballot, delay in delivery of election-related material or candidates not filing nominations.

About 527 constituencies did not go to polls on November 30. These also included 236 union councils of Kech district and 30 constituencies in Awaran district.

Sultan Bayzad, an ECP official, said the commission would announce the exact number of constituencies where elections could not be conducted once the process of collection of results was completed.

According to unofficial results collected by the commission from different parts of the province, independent candidates had maintained a clear lead with more than 700 rural and urban seats.

National Party clinched 172 seats, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz 161, Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party 160, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl 123 and Balochistan National Party-Mengal 24 seats. Hazara Democratic Party won three seats from Quetta.

“We have got the results of 16 districts out of a total of 29 districts, where elections were held,” Sultan Bayzad said. “The results are still coming from remote areas and we will be done by early hours of Monday. However, the final lists of winning candidates will be issued by December 10.”

Election Commission displayed the incomplete results of 12 districts that included Dera Bugti, Barkhan, Chagai, Jhal Magsi, Kohlu, Mastung, Naushki, Panjgur, Sherani, Mastung, Lehri and Sibi.

But the results are incomplete as in some union councils, no political party fielded candidates.

According to the Balochistan Election Commission, there are a total of 58 seats for Metropolitan Corporation Quetta.

PKMAP clinched 19 seats, independent candidates bagged 18, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz seven, BNP-Mengal three, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf four, Hazara Democratic Party three, National Party two and Jamiat Ulema-Islam-Ideological and Majlis Wadatul Muslimeen one each.