ISLAMABAD - The Council of Islamic Ideology (CII) on Thursday recommended establishment of speedy trial courts in the country for curbing heinous crimes. The 210th session of the Council of Islamic Ideology, headed by Chairman CII Dr Qibla Ayaz contemplated Zainab murder case and unanimously opined certainty of the penalty is solution to the growing social malaise in the present situation.

The CII was of the view some reforms should be made in the judicial system for providing speedy and affordable justice. The CII also expressed the need for setting up speedy trial courts for punishing the culprits of heinous crimes.

Responding to a question, he said that the penalty could be publicised through modern means of communication in order to achieve the Islamic objective of deterrence of the crimes.

The Council unanimously adopted the recent State narrative and unanimous Fatwa of Ulema from all school of thoughts namely the ‘Paigham-i-Pakistan and recommended that the narrative agreed on Paigham-e-Pakistan should be enacted through legislation.

The Higher Education Commission (HEC) needs to reflect Paigham-i-Pakistan in the curriculum and make it part of the academic discourse at the universities.

The Council also approved the draft submitted by the Ministry of Religious Affairs on Interfaith Discourse, understanding and cooperation.

The Council opined that a policy developed and based on that document would enhance respect of Pakistan in the global community. The Council declared the growing trend of private interest system as a major cause of the exploitation of the poor people, while passing the proposed bill recommended that government should take immediate step to stop that practice.

The meeting was attended by CII members including Dr. Sajjid ur Rehman, Allama Abdul Hakeem, Justice (Retd) Muhammad Raza Khan, Dr. Samiyah Raheel Qazi, Sahibzada Zahid Mehmood Qasmi, Maulana Imdadullah, Allama Syed Iftikhar Hussain Naqvi, Justice (Retd) Manzoor Hussain Gillani, Dr. Qari Abdul Rasheed, Arif Hussain Wahadi, Abdul Zafar Ghulam Muhammad Sialvi, Maulana Hafiz Fazal ur Raheem, Malikullah Bakush Kalyar, Khursid Ahmad Nadeem, Ragib Hussain Naeemi and Pir Rooh ul Hussnain.