LAHORE -  While Thursday was the last day for submission of nomination papers by all candidates, a senior lawyer approached the Lahore High Court, praying the March 3rd poll for the upper house of the parliament be stayed on account of constitutional points raised in his petition.

Advocate Azhar Siddique alleged that ‘malafide amendments’ were introduced through Election Act 2017 to protect defaulters, corrupt as well as those having dual nationality. He stated that on Oct 2, 2017, the parliament passed the impugned Election Act 2017 and erased clauses relating to several declarations required in nomination papers for the contesting candidates.

16 PML-N candidates submit nomination papers

Over 16 candidates of PML-N have submitted their nomination papers with the top poll body to contest for Senate seats from Punjab.

The PTI’s five candidates will be in field while PPP’s three and PML-Q’s one aspirant are ready to contest the election scheduled to be held on March 3.

The ruling PML-N’s nine candidates are retiring on March 3 and eight among them belong to Punjab. The party leadership has awarded tickets to four retiring candidates for their re-election and they include Senator Ishaq Dar, Dr Asif Kirmani, Kamran Michael and Nuzhat Sadiq. The other four who are leaving Senate on PML-N seats are:  Senator Zulfqar Khan Khosa, M Hamza, Ch Saud Majeed and Zafrullah Khan Dhandla.

According to the Punjab chapter of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), over 120 potential candidates had collected nomination papers from the ECP, but only 34 submitted filled forms till Thursday, the last day for submitting nomination papers. An official said a total 72 candidates have collected nomination papers for the seven general seats, 28 for the two women seats and 20 for the two slots of technocrats. Until Wednesday, he said, 12 candidates on general seats had submitted their papers, four for women and two for technocrats’ seats.

The different party candidates who submitted their nomination papers with ECP Punjab on last day are: Malik Shakeel Ahmad Awan, Shaheen Khalid Butt, Irfan Ahmad Khan Daha, Rana Mehmood Ul Hassan, Mian Hamid Miraj, Rao Anees Ur Rehman Khan, Shahzad Ali Khan, Muhammad Bilal Butt, Sarfraz Qureshi, Sayed Asif Saeed Kirmani, Haroon Khan, Sami Ullah Chaudhary, Maqbool Ahmad, Musadik Masood Malik, Muhammad Serwar, Zubair Gull, Usman  Zai and Farooq Khan.

On seats of women, five aspirants submitted their papers including Hina Rabbani Khar, Nuzhat Sadiq, Shaza Fatima Khawaja, Saadia Abbasi and Andleeb Abbas.

On seats of technocrat Muhammad Ishaq Dar, Muhammad Nawazish Ali Pirzada, Abdul Karim, Naseer Ahmad Bhutta, and Malik Muhammad Asif javaid submitted nomination papers.

On one seat for non-Muslims three aspirants have submitted their papers including Kamran Michael, William Michael and  Victor Azariah.

As per election schedule, the ECP will publish list of the nominated candidates by February 9.

The last date for scrutiny of nomination papers will be February 12 and last date for filling of appeals against acceptance or rejection of nominations will be by February 15.

The last date for disposal of appeals by the tribunal is February 17 while the last date for publication of revised list of candidates is February 18.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 19 while polling will be held on March 3, 2018 in Punjab Assembly building. The same scheduled was announced for Sindh, KP and Balochistan for the Senate Election.