ISLAMABAD  - While brainstorming on the establishment of an independent think tank at Senate, senators belonging to different political parties gave formal approval to the proposed idea that originally is the brainchild of Chairman Senate Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari.

Initially the think tank has been named as the 'Syndicate of the Senate of Pakistan'.

The exclusive session of former and current senators was presided over by Chairman Senate Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari at Parliament House here on Wednesday.

At the outset, Chairman Senate remarked that Parliament would have to play a more dynamic and assertive role in 21st century and the establishment of think tank would help achieving the desired objective.

He said that experience and skills of the former parliamentarian would be an asset for the think tank, as they would identify the lacunas and shortcomings in the existing legislation and further suggest the new areas for legislation and policy guidance. He thanked the seasoned parliamentarians for taking part in the discussion.

Secretary Senate Amjed Pervez Malik also informed the members about the proposed think tank particularly focusing on its role and functions. He pointed out that compilation of the parliamentary practices was direly needed, besides linking of parliament with international bodies and other international parliaments.

Former chairmen of the Senate Farooq H Naek and Wasim Sajjad were also present on the occasion. They lauded the efforts of the Chairman Senate Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari and Secretary Senate Amjed Pervez Malik for floating such a wonderful idea and expressed the hope that it would strengthen the foundations of the parliamentary system and traditions in the country.

The members underscored the need for strengthening the research wing and making the committee system more active and vibrant. They unanimously approved the formation of the think tank. The Chairman Senate decided to constitute a Steering Committee after proper consultation with Leader of the Opposition, Leader of the House in the Senate besides taking the National Assembly onboard.  It was decided that after adoption of the final recommendations, a motion would be put in the Senate for its formal approval. 

The Chairman Senate thanked the senators for active participation in the meeting and observed that they wanted the democracy to flourish and see the Parliament to be a dynamic and responsive to the needs and aspiration of the people.

The brainstorming session was well attended. Besides Leader of the House in the Senate, Raja Muhammad Zafarul Haq and Leader of the Opposition in the Senate Aitzaz Ahsan, senators Mian Raza Rabbani, Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Tahir Hussain Mashahdi, Molana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Afrasiab Khattak, Ch. Jaffar Iqbal, Dr. Muhammad Jehangir Badar, Mohsin Leghari, Rubina Khalid, Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah, Nuzhat Sadiq and Farhatullah Babar attended the session. Former senators SM Zafar, Ch Muhammad Anwar Bhinder, Salim Saifull Khan, Razina Alam Khan, Zafar Iqbal Jhagra, Fashi Iqbal, Rukhsana Zuberi, Roshan Khursheed Barocha, Javed Jabbar, Dilawar Abbas and Haroon Akhtar and others were also part of the consultation session.