COLOMBO - Jaydev Unadkat (3/38) and Vijay Shankar (2/32) shared five wickets as India restricted Bangladesh to 139/8 in their second Twenty-20 Internationals of the Nidahas Trophy Tri-Series at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Thursday.

Sent in to bat, Bangladesh lost wickets at regular intervals and failed to build any substantial partnerships in the middle.

Yuzvendra Chahal (1/19) and Shardul Thakur (1/25) contributed a wicket each for India, while Liton Das (34) and Sabbir Rahman (30) were the top scorers for Bangladesh.

After a steady start, Soumya Sarkar increased the tempo with a four through covers off Washington Sundar in the second over and then flicked Jaydev Unadkat's delivery over square leg for a six in the next. But while trying a similar flick two balls later, Sarkar hit it straight to Chahal at short fine leg as Unadkat gave India the first breakthrough. Sarkar hit a six and a four during his 12-ball 14.

Tamim Iqbal won a review against an LBW decision in the fifth over, as the ball has pitched just outside leg, and immediately hit Thakur for back-to-back fours in the next two balls. But Thakur had the last laugh. In the last ball of the over, Tamim (15) top edged a slow bouncer to give Unadkat an easy catch at short fine leg.

Shankar, who was playing his second T20I, dismissed Mushfiqur Rahim (18) for his first international wicket in the ninth over, before adding the wicket of captain Mahmudullah in the 11th.

Das, who was dropped on 7 by Suresh Raina in the seventh over, stabilised the Bangladesh innings by adding 35 runs for the fifth wicket with Rahman. Das hit three fours for his 30-ball 34, before becoming Chahal's victim in the 16th over. Unadkat then sent Mehidy Hasan back in the next over for his second wicket.

Rahman scored 30 off 26 balls, which included a six and three fours, before becoming third wicket of Unadkat in the penultimate over. Bangladesh lost Rubel Hossain in the final over as they lost four wickets in final five.





Tamim Iqbal c Unadkat b Thakur 15

Soumya Sarkar c Chahal b Unadkat 14

Liton Das c Raina b Chahal 34

Mushfiqur Rahim c Karthik b Shankar 18

Mahmudullah c Thakur b Shankar 1

Sabbir Rahman c Karthik b Unadkat 30

Mehidy Hasan c Pandey b Unadkat 3

Taskin Ahmed not out 8

Rubel Hossain run out 0

Mustafizur Rahman not out 1

EXTRAS: (lb2, nb2, w11) 15

TOTAL: (8 wkts; 20 overs) 139

FOW: 1-20, 2-35, 3-66, 4-72, 5-107, 6-118, 7-134, 8-135

BOWLING: J Unadkat 4-0-38-3, Washington Sundar 4-0-23-0, S Thakur 4-0-25-1, Y Chahal 4-0-19-1, V Shankar 4-0-32-2

TOSS: India

UMPIRES: Lyndon Hannibal, Ranmore Martinesz

TV UMPIRE: Raveendra Wimalasiri