Ahmedabad - Sunrisers Hyderabad had done this in their inaugural IPL season in 2013 as well. Their batsmen would struggle to a middling total, but the bowlers would come out and defend it with considerable margins to spare. They did it again in Ahmedabad tonight. Their batting crumbled after a strong start of 55 for 1 to post 134 for 9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar removed Ajinkya Rahane off the third ball of the chase, and Royals were never allowed to get away. Just how difficult Sunrisers made it was evident from the fact that Royals managed one boundary after the seventh over.

Karun Nair and Sanju Samson had hit a few till that point, against the pace of Dale Steyn too. The second-wicket stand was soon cut short on 27 by the fast bowler when he had Nair caught behind with an outswinger. That was to be the only partnership that held promise for Royals.

The legspinners Amit Mishra and Karn Sharma were brought on, and Royals stalled. Samson stepped out in Karn's first over to be bowled by a straighter one. Despite no pressure yet from the asking-rate, Royals kept going for their shots. Moises Henriques had spent six games on the bench for Sunrisers. He was included tonight in place of Darren Sammy, and had Watson caught behind on the cut with his third ball.  From 41 for 4, Steven Smith and Stuart Binny were tied down by the legspinners. Mishra had been comically run out earlier after getting reprieved twice off the same delivery. He has been uncharacteristically expensive this season, and was left out for Sunrisers' previous match. He hit back with a spell of four overs on the trot for 13 runs.



S Dhawan b Watson    33

A Finch c Rahane b Bhatia    9

K Rahul b Bhatia    18

N Ojha b Bhatia    17

D Warner st Samson b Tambe    6

M Henriques c Rahane b Watson    9

I Pathan not out    21

K Sharma c Samson b Watson    0

D Steyn run out    9

A Mishra run out    0

B Kumar not out    0

EXTRAS: (b 5, lb 5, w 2)    12

TOTAL: (9 wickets; 20 overs)    134

FOW: 1-37, 2-55, 3-67, 4-85, 5-89, 6-106, 7-106, 8-125, 9-129

BOWLING: KW Richardson 4-0-28-0, DS Kulkarni 2-0-19-0, SR Watson 2-0-13-3, JP Faulkner 4-0-20-0, R Bhatia 4-0-23-3, PV Tambe 4-0-21-1


A Rahane c Warner b Kumar    0

K Nair c Ojha b Steyn    12

S Samson b Sharma    16

S Watson c Ojha b Henriques    11

S Binny run out    12

S Smith c Pathan b Steyn    22

R Bhatia c Warner b Kumar    4

J Faulkner c Finch b Kumar    4

K Richardson c & b Kumar    1

D Kulkarni not out    7

P Tambe c Steyn b Pathan    3

EXTRAS: (b 4, lb 1, w 5)    10

TOTAL: (all out; 19.5 overs)    102

FOW: 1-0, 2-27, 3-37, 4-41, 5-78, 6-82, 7-89, 8-89, 9-91, 10-102

BOWLING: B Kumar 4-0-14-4, DW Steyn 4-0-31-2, KV Sharma 4-0-20-1, MC Henriques 2-0-11-1, A Mishra 4-0-13-0, IK Pathan 1.5-0-8-1

TOSS: Rajasthan

UMPIRES: AK Chaudhary, NJ Llong (Eng)