For the first time in the history of Pakistan , the two members of Election Commission of Pakistan have been retired on through the draw system.

Using the draw method, Chief Election Commissioner Sardar Muhammad Raza announced the retirement of Shakeel Baluch, a member from Baluchistan and Abdul Ghaffar Soomro from Sindh, while the remaining two members will complete their five-year tenure.

The remaining members are Irshad Qaiser from KP and Altaf Ibrahim from Punjab.

The government and opposition will appoint two members on the vacant positions till January.

The tenure of Election Commission of Pakistan member is five years.

The parliament through an amendment inducted a clause in the constitution that two of the members of election commission would retire after two and half years while remaining two would complete their five years tenure.