LAHORE - Arshad Jahangir Jhoja was elected Lahore Bar Association president and Shahid Maqsood Bullah senior vice president, according to unofficial results.
As many as 15, 620 voters exercised their power to elect new leadership. Aazar Latif Advocate was appointed acting chairman of Election Board who supervised the election. A total of 37 candidates contested the election for 8 different seats.
For the seat of vice-president, Advocate Irfan Tarar, Mian Abbas Shahzad, Mian Arif, Ijaz Basra and Zahid Sherazi were the main candidates. Faisal Manzoor, Naeem Chohan, Hamayun Abdullah Malik, Sajjad Virk, Babar Hamayun Chohan and Chaudhary Irfan were the candidates for the slot of Secretary.
Adnan Sinhum Alia Atif, Mohsina Ch andTayyba Mubarak were contesting election on the seat of joint secretary while Rifat Tufail Malik, Imtiaz Gujjar and Shahid are the candidates for treasurer. On vice-president seat of Model Town courts, Naeem Watto and Shahzad Kakar were strong candidates.
The election started at 9 am . The courtrooms at sessions courts were made as polling booths. CCTV cameras were installed at all polling booths for the monitoring of the election. The Election Board used the courtroom of sessions judge for its record and to monitor the election process. Strict Security arrangements were made.