Islamabad\RAWALPINDI - Syed Tayyab has won the slot of president in Islamabad District Bar (IDB) elections by securing 790 votes while his opponent Javed Salim Shorish got 639 votes.
For the slot of vice-president, Raja Ansar obtained 953 votes while Naziran Malik got 405 votes.
For the slot of general secretary Islamabad District Bar, Zafar Khokhar got 974 votes and his opponent Raja Yamin Abbasi managed to get 431 votes. Shahid won the seat of joint secretary. He got 792 votes, while his rival Shabana Murad Shah got 612 votes. Chaudhry Shafqat was elected library secretary unopposed as no other lawyer had filed nomination papers for that post.
Turnout remained low as 1,450 voters out of 2,313 polled their votes. There are 4,000 registered voters, including 700 women lawyers. But the sources said that only 2,313 lawyers were allowed to cast their votes as majority had not deposited their annual fee and, therefore, they were not eligible to cast their votes.
Meanwhile, Shaukat Rauf Siddiqui has won the slot of president in District Bar Association elections by defeating GM Shah.
According to results, Shaukat Rauf Siddiqui bagged 1009 votes and has been elected as President DBA . His opponent GM Shah could only get 490 votes. Similarly, the other two candidates for the slot of president Jamie Malik and Ayub Gujar obtained 227 and 14 votes respectively. Zamir Abbas (726 votes) defeated his opponent Abdur Rehman (725 votes) with the difference of 1 vote and clinched slot of vice-president.
Sardar Bilal Qayyum was elected as general secretary DBA by bagging 865 votes and his opponent Ch Shams got 846 votes. Umair Qadir Malik got 1155 votes and was elected as joint secretary.
The polling of DBA remained peaceful. Tight security arrangements were made by police on the occasion.