OUR STAFF REPORTER LAHORE Under yearly development programme, the Punjab government has directed Provincial Police Chief Javed Iqbal to establish 14 new police stations across the province within days. The initiative has been taken in order to curb the increasing crime rate, redress the public grievances and unburden the existing police stations. Insiders believed that several complaints by common citizens to top cops have been received with the Police Headquarters Punjab about population expansion and ever increasing crimes of all categories across the Punjab. They further said after analysing such circumstances, the top brass of PML-N has directed the provincial police chief to take necessary steps in this regard. Ultimately, Javed has given approval of establishing 11 new police stations whereas establishment of three new police stations in Multan district are likely to take place shortly. According to notification, three police stations in provincial capital - PS Nawab Town, PS Mustafa Town and PS Sundar - will be established under the aforesaid programme. Similarly, PS Housing Colony in district Sheikhpura, PS Sialkot Airport in district Sialkot, PS Saddar Wah Cantt in district Rawalpindi, PS Satellite Town in district Jhang, PS Chidru in Musa Khail (district Mianwali), PS Raja Ram in Shujabad (district Multan) and two police stations in DG Khan district, PS Gadai and PS Taunsa Sharif will be setup. Moreover, after the approval of IGP three new police stations including PS Shah Rukan-e-Alam, PS Bahauddin Zikiriya and PS Shah Shams will be established in Multan district. Quoting the application of a former Satukattla SHO Inspector Javed Siddique, the top cop said the area of Satukatla was so large that a single police station was not enough to deliver. SHO moved several applications to DIG Operations with repeated requests to take step and get approval of a new police station, he added.