ISLAMABAD The Supreme Court on Tuesday said that it was not inclined to postpone by-election in NA-123, Lahore VI, but the final results of the said constituency will subject to the decision of the apex court. The apex court also directed the respondents - Election Commissioner of Pakistan (ECP) and others - accordingly. A three-member bench of the apex court headed by Justice Javed Iqbal heard the petition filed by a candidate from NA-123, Chaudhry Muhammad Ilyas Gujjar, in which he challenged the acceptance of new nomination papers for election in the said constituency. Justice Muhammad Sair Ali and justice Tariq Parvez were other judges of the bench, which further ordered the Chief Election Commissioner to hold back the final results of the election and not to announce them formally. Barrister Ahmad Raza Qasuri, counsel for the petitioner, argued that the ECP could only extend the date and, therefore, new nominations could not be submitted, adding that his clients election symbol was also changed. The apex court should postpone election in the said constituency till the decision in the case, he argued. Qasuri further argued that fresh nomination papers could not be invited in NA-123, as that stage had already passed when the by-election was postponed in the said constituency. Only six candidates namely Chaudhry Ilyas Gujjar, Sajid Latif, Qazi Kamran, Noor Elahi, Mian Nawaz Sharif and Amber Shehzada should be allowed to contest election while 82 new applications should not be entertained, Qasuri elaborated adding, The ECP violated section 18 of Representation of People Act 1976. Earlier, the apex court on 16th February referred the case to the LHC directing it to decide the case without affecting SC verdict delivered on January 11. The apex courts verdict also said the process of elections should be started from where it was stopped, clarifying that the apex court verdict in NA-55 Rawalpindi will be applicable on all the vacant seats in the state. Meanwhile, Ch Ilyas Gujjar told TheNation that he had boycotted the polls as ECP changed his election symbol.