National Sr Men’s Volleyball from 12th

LAHORE - Pakistan Volleyball Federation (PVF) chairman Ch M Yaqoob Monday announced to hold the 49th National Senior Men’s Volleyball Championship at the Liaqat Gymnasium of Islamabad Sports Complex from May 12. Addressing a press conference, Yaqoob said 16 departmental and provincial teams would feature in the championship, which had been divided into four groups. Yaqoob said: “The game of volleyball suffered hugely due to internal politics of vested interests in recent years but with sincere efforts and hard work, the present federation has succeeded to clean the dust and put the game on the right track. Our players are playing professional volleyball leagues in Lebanon, Philippines and other countries which is a proof that the game is progressing in Pakistan.”–Staff Reporter


Eight players advance in SN Tennis

ISLAMABAD - Eight players qualified for the main round of the Subh-e-Nau National Clay Court Tennis Championship 2016 here at Senator Dilawar Abbas PTF Complex on Monday. The first round matches of men’s singles will be played today (Tuesday). M Waqas Malik, who appeared on national circuit after a gap of three years, along with Raja Shahid, Shakirullah, Irfanullah, Malik Hamza, Asadullah, Syed Nofil Kaleem and Huzaifa Abdul Rehman qualified for the main round. In the first match, Raja Shahid thumped Noman Ahmed 6-3, 6-3; Shakirullah outclassed Masood Malik 6-1, 6-1, Irfanullah crushed Ahmed Murad 6-0, 6-0, Malik Hamz routed Ikramullah 6-1, 6-0, Asadullah beat Bilal Kabir 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, Nofil brushed aside Bilal 6-0, 6-0, M Waqas Malak beat Raja Shafaqat 6-4, 6-4 and Huzaifa downed Husnain 6-1, 6-1.–Staff Reporter



Cricketer Centre lift Saga Sports title

LAHORE - Cricket Center Club has defeated Model Town Club by 2 runs to lift the Saga Cup 2016 title here at the EME ground. The match was live telecast on PTV. Put into bat first, Cricket Center were all out for 241 in 40 overs. Kamran Akmal slammed 88 while Shahrukh Khan added 47 and M Waheed 37. For Model Town Club, Saad Naseem took 4-52. Model Town Club replied strongly but when they were close to score win, outstanding bowling by spinner Salman Fayaz (4 wickets) restricted them to 240. M Imran made 57 and Imamul Haq 45. Salman Fayaz was named man-of-the-match. At the closing ceremony, Saga Sports chairperson Mrs Farzana Saif was chief guest while PCB Senior General Manager Ali Zia, Mushtaq Ahmad, Haji Bashir Ahmad, former Test cricketers Manzoor Ehali and Waseem Ahmad along with others were also present.–Staff Reporter




Peshawar win PAF T20 Trophy for Blind

ISLAMABAD - Peshawar Cricket Club of the Blind won the PAF T20 Cricket Champions Trophy for the Blind, as they defeated Islamabad Cricket Club of the Blind by massive 85 runs in the final played at PAF Complex Cricket Ground on Monday. Deputy Chief of the Air Staff (Training) Air Marshal Farooq Habib graced the final as chief guest. Put into bat first, Peshawar scored massive 309-4 in 20 overs. Haroon Khan was the star of the day as he hammered 140 runs. Islamabad Club could score only score 224. Anis Javed’s heroics failed to take his team home as he slammed 145 runs. Haroon Khan was declared man of the final for his outstanding knock. Six teams from different cities of the country participated in the tournament. At the end, the chief guest distributed prizes among the teams and individuals. Sharing his views, the chief guest congratulated all the participating teams for showing such a marvelous sportsman spirit. “PAF is proud of serving the noble cause of bringing the visually impaired in the mainstream of the society,” he added. –Staff Reporter