MUMBAI (AFP) India will clash with Bangladesh in the opening match of the 2011 World Cup in Dhaka on February 19, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Monday. The first match takes place two days after the opening ceremony of the 14-nation showpiece at the same venue in Dhaka on February 17, according to the schedule released by the ICC here. The final of the 43-day tournament, being co-hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, will take place at the renovated Wankhede stadium in Indias financial capital of Mumbai on April 2. The teams have been divided into two groups of seven each for the preliminary league, with the top four from each group advancing to the quarter-finals. Defending champions Australia head group A which includes Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and two qualifiers, Canada and Kenya. The other group comprises India, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh and qualifiers Ireland, Netherlands. India will host 29 matches at eight venues, Sri Lanka 12 at three venues and Bangladesh eight at two places, after Pakistan were removed as co-hosts by the ICC due to security fears in the volatile nation. Pakistan, who were wary of playing in India due to political tensions between the two nations, will play its six league matches in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka will host five of its matches at two new venues in southern Hambantota and Pallekele, near the hill town of Kandy, where cricket stadiums are under construction. The remaining seven games in the island nation will be held at the Premadasa stadium in Colombo. India has picked eight regular Test centres Mumbai, Mohali, Ahmedabad, Nagpur, Kolkata, Bangalore, Chennai, New Delhi for its matches. The Bangladeshi capital of Dhaka will host six matches and the opening ceremony, while two games will be played in the port city of Chittagong. The 2011 event is a week shorter than the one held in the Caribbean in 2007 and will have 49 matches, two less than the previous tournament. This announcement is an important indicator of the excellent progress we are making towards our flagship event which brings together teams from all our members in nation-versus-nation action, ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said. Preparation of venues and safety and security planning continues, and I am confident that the host countries will showcase our great sport with its great spirit in the best possible light. ICC vice-president Sharad Pawar, who is chairman of the organising committee, said he looked forward to a great tournament. The sub-continent offers some great facilities for the cricketers, spectators, sponsors and media, with some brand new stadia to be built and others to be upgraded, said Pawar. The schedule will allow the venues to focus on the task at hand to plan and implement their preparations, and ensure they are ready to welcome the world to this beautiful, historic and cricket-loving region in 2011. 2011 World Cup fixtures Group A: Australia (holders), Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada, Kenya. Group B: India, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland, Netherlands. (Four teams from each group will qualify for the quarter-finals) Venues: India (29 matches) - Mumbai, Mohali, Ahmedabad, Nagpur, Kolkata, Bangalore, Chennai, New Delhi. Sri Lanka (12 matches) - Colombo, Hambantota, Pallekele Bangladesh (8 matches) - Dhaka, Chittagong Fixtures: Feb 17: Opening ceremony, Dhaka Feb 19: India v Bangladesh, Dhaka Feb 20: New Zealand v Kenya, Chennai Sri Lanka v Canada, Hambantota Feb 21: Australia v Zimbabwe, Ahmedabad Feb 22: England v Netherlands, Nagpur Feb 23: Pakistan v Kenya, Hambantota Feb 24: South Africa v West Indies, New Delhi Feb 25: Australia v New Zealand, Nagpur Bangladesh v Ireland, Dhaka Feb 26: Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Colombo Feb 27: India v England, Kolkata Feb 28: West Indies v Netherlands, New Delhi Zimbabwe v Canada, Nagpur Mar 1 : Sri Lanka v Kenya, Colombo Mar 2 : England v Ireland, Bangalore Mar 3 : South Africa v Netherlands, Mohali Pakistan v Canada, Colombo Mar 4 : New Zealand v Zimbabwe, Ahmedabad Bangladesh v West Indies, Dhaka Mar 5 : Sri Lanka v Australia, Colombo Mar 6 : India v Ireland, Bangalore England v South Africa, Chennai Mar 7 : Kenya v Canada, New Delhi Mar 8 : Pakistan v New Zealand, Pallekele Mar 9 : India v Netherlands, New Delhi Mar 10: Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe, Pallekele Mar 11: West Indies v Ireland, Mohali Bangladesh v England, Chittagong Mar 12: India v South Africa, Nagpur Mar 13: New Zealand v Canada, Mumbai Australia v Kenya, Bangalore Mar 14: Pakistan v Zimbabwe, Pallekele Bangladesh v Netherlands, Chittagong Mar 15: South Africa v Ireland, Kolkata Mar 16: Australia v Canada, Bangalore Mar 17: England v West Indies, Chennai Mar 18: Sri Lanka v New Zealand, Mumbai Ireland v Netherlands, Kolkata Mar 19: Australia v Pakistan, Colombo Bangladesh v South Africa, Dhaka Mar 20: Zimbabwe v Kenya, Kolkata India v West Indies, Chennai Mar 23: First quarter-final, Dhaka Mar 24: Second quarter-final, Colombo Mar 25: Third quarter-final, Dhaka Mar 26: Fourth quarter-final, Ahmedabad Mar 29: First semi-final, Colombo Mar 30: Second semi-final, Mohali Apr 2 : Final, Mumbai